Trip Advisor 2017 Winner Certificate of Excellence
TheSundayTimes-120w
Award-Sawday
AA 5 Star Gold
best dog friendly hotels in Cornwall
Trip Advisor 2016 Winner Certificate of Excellence

Reviews-1

Reviews5star-excellent

Blue Monkey is a firm favourite with those wishing to rent a coastal holiday cottage in Cornwall and with 80% of bookings for Blue Monkey booked by March each year (mainly by returning guests or via recommendations) we believe that this is a sign that Blue Monkey as a Luxury Cottage is reasonably priced and that visitors will return time and time again.

Feedback is always encouraged to help us improve our services to enhance future stays. If you feel anything was missing or needed to be updated, please contact us with your suggestions and tips.

Our dogs had the best holiday ever!

review-thumb-1

A magical place for a holiday, because we could take our 3 dogs and I don’t know who enjoyed it more! An amazing welcome basket for humans and dog bowls filled with treats – we all felt special on arrival. The dogs and I explored the car free streets in safety. They were especially happy to be allowed off their leads on the beach and took me walking all the way to the Rame Peninsula. They had the best holiday ever!

Guy H, July 2017

Everyone Loved Blue Monkey

review-thumb-1

Stayed for a week at the end of May and everyone loved the Blue Monkey, very homely and comfortable. Would definitely re visit.

Jeremy Stopher, June 2017

Wonderful Location

review-thumb-1

Accommodation is very well equipped, comfortable and all the luxury items you would expect (bedding/bathroom/kitchen/garden). Although the accommodation doesn’t come with private parking, a public car park is a very short stroll away.
Location itself is wonderful, small (which keeps its charm) but enough restaurants/pubs to entertain you should you wish to dine out, and all are dog friendly, which makes the holiday perfect. 
As a note, Kingsand Beach is dog friendly all year round but not Cawsand Beach.

Taking the Cawsand Ferry over to Plymouth highly recommended.
Annabel is always a phone call away should problems arise during your stay, which in our case was our experience but problem efficiently resolved.
Thank you

Sadiething, May 2017

Five Star House, Lovely Location

review-thumb-1

House was very comfortable, well presented, warm , well furnished.

Mandy Gibbons, February 2017

A Spiritual Magic

review-thumb-1

The Blue Monkey is a wonderful place to stay in this hidden gem of a spot in the UK. There is a spiritual magic here to embrace, giving the whole family a sense of peace and relaxation. You have thought of everything. Many thanks.

David C, August 2016

Games, Beach, BBQ, Stars

review-thumb-1

We love the Blue Monkey – 2nd year and booked for a third! Joyous, relaxed times with the family, games, beach, bbbq, stars.

Nancy W, August 2016

Never a Dull Moment

review-thumb-1

The annual summer jamboree of my worldwide family was a triumph. From my youngest grandchild aged 12 to my 80 year old self, we all had fun, there was never a dull moment. The house was wonderfully prepared for us and its meandering rooms on different levels were an entertainment in themselves. There were three evenings warm enough to sit in the garden for barbecue supper – roast lamb one night, lobster the next. And when I fancied some time to myself, I pottered off to the excellent pub (next door but one) where the locals made us emmets most welcome.

We roamed the countryside and had a picnic on the point, kayaked and bumboated, fished and frolicked in the sea. It was all over far to quickly.

We all agreed it was one of the best family get-togethers so far.

Paul B, July 2016

Luxury in Cornwall

review-thumb-1

We have had a lovely week. The house is ideally suited and has catered for us all from 1 grandson aged 16 months to ancient grandparents and children and their partners. Thank you for thinking of and supplying everything that any of us could possibly want. Lovely walks and good food at both the Devenport and the Halway Inn – the bakery is fabulous and everyone so friendly. The weather even held and we had some lovely sunny weather on Cawsand and Kingsand beaches. Really good food and Rick Stein’s seafood restaurant at Fistral Beach too! Thank you and see you again! Chris W, Billingshurst, UK

Chris W, August 2015

Terrific – better than the best reviews

This house was a total dream: it is stunning and immaculate with superb attention to detail and lovely chinaware and accessories, but so child friendly and homely that we were able to relax and feel at home here even travelling with 5 kids under 4yrs old.It is ideally situated on a quiet one-way street between the two beaches of Kingsand and Cawsand (kids hurling up and down on balance bikes were universally greeted with smiles) and the local shop and play area are also well within walking distance.

I cannot emphasise enough how pleased we were to have chosen Blue Monkey and would heartily and highly recommend it to anyone considering holidaying here.

Alison M: June 2015

A lovely house in a lovely village right by the sea

The Blue Monkey is a splendid house in great condition and spotlessly clean. It has loads of character inside and in the lovely court yard at the side and rear. Its meters away from the sea and the local pubs (one next door but one) serve really tasty food.It is ideally situated on a quiet one-way street between the two beaches of Kingsand and Cawsand (kids hurling up and down on balance bikes were universally greeted with smiles) and the local shop and play area are also well within walking distance.

I cannot emphasise enough how pleased we were to have chosen Blue Monkey and would heartily and highly recommend it to anyone considering holidaying here.

Paul A: July 2015

Perfect for two families with children. Everything we needed was there

We had a great week in Cawsand staying at the blue monkey, everything we needed for both adults and children had been thought of and were their waiting for us including lots of dvd’s. We found the house to be really comfortable to live in and the top (second) floor was great for children with two good master bedrooms on the first floor both with en-suites and roll top baths, one of which also has a gorgeous rain drop shower.

If you don’t feel like cooking then we can also recommend the pub which is next door but one, we were even treated to some sea shanty singing but booking is recommended.

Melfo: June 2015

A relaxing stay in a beautiful house and village

Our stay at Bluemonkey was as wonderful as the reviews suggested it would be! The house is beautifully decorated and ideally situated in the most quaint little village in Cornwall. We loved the escape from busy life – everything you need is within walking distance in the village; cute restaurants, beaches and most importantly, ice cream!
Jordan T: 8 June 2015

Perfect for a group of friends with dogs

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cornwall in a beautiful, specious property in a lovely location. If you are planning a trip to Cornwall, I recommend the Blue Monkey as a perfect place to stay with a group of friends. It is really peaceful but there is lots to do in the village and surrounding area. The beach is lovely and our dog loved running bout there.
Susie Summers: 6 June 2015

Perfect family seaside escape

Beautiful family and pet friendly house in a gorgeous village. This house is better kitted out for little ones than my own home.

Local beach and pubs are perfect, no need to leave the village!

Jennifer, June 14

I traveled with my husband, children and extended family. We had 4 adults and 5 children all under 6 years old. My husband and I and our 3 kids had come over from Australia to see our family who live in Southampton. We booked blue monkey so we could have a week living together. It was perfect.The booking process was straightforward, Pam replied promptly to my emails and was patient while she waited for an international money transfer (she promised to hold the property for us – in the end the money only took a day or so to clear).The driving directions were helpful. The welcome pack gave us loads of information. We arrived at 3pm, the house was ready, cleaners had departed, the key was easily accessed with the instructions provided by Ed and Pam. We walked in to find Hot Cross buns, clotted cream and jam for our afternoon tea and a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge.The house was immaculately clean. It instantly felt warm and inviting. The size was perfect for our family, especially with all our little children. We booked just the 4 rooms and our youngest slept in a cot in the massive ensuite bathroom. The 4 older children shared 2 rooms.

We would certainly return.

Melbourne, May 14

Keep coming back to Blue Monkey for more! Lovely to see the house gleaming from top to bottom following a fresh lick of paint! The introduction of a second fridge making room for some extra beverages and the usual stunning walks and beach activities around Cawsand made for an axcellent week. The dogs were in their element throughout and particularly enjoyed snuggling up in front on the fire when the Cornish weather decided to close in for a day or two!
Norfolk, May 14

This is a very special and unique find —a wonderful, homely cottage nestled in a delightful spot—we loved the friendly hamlet ;the great beaches ;the coastal walks that were so beautiful;the Pubs especially the Davenport, where we became regular visitors -the Boat Hut which did amazing breakfasts and more than anything we did not take the car out of the car park until the day before we left when we visited the superb Rick Steins seafood restaurant. An amazingly restful break in a cottage so lovingly restored and furnished with every need catered for. Hilary April 2014.
Hilary, April 2014

An excellent place in an unspoilt part of Cornwall

review-thumb-1
Blue Monkey was recommended by friends of my daughter-in-law who had stayed there. It needed to be child friendly, close to the beach, and comfortable as we travelled in November.
It was all of these things and more. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there celebrating my 70th Birthday with friends and family. Nothing in the property was overlooked and we felt really at home and very comfortable
Wokingham, Nov 13

Stormy, windy, sunny and cold. We had it all and we loved it!

One of the cosiest, yet comfortable coastal cottages we’ve stayed in; plenty of space, log fires and beds for everyone. A group of us stayed, coastal walks, kitesurfing nearby, even a brief surf and friendly pubs. Will definitely be back. Thankyou.

Putney, Nov 13

Far and away our favourite cottage and place to stay in Cornwall

With a long list of boxes to be ticked I spent hours trawling through cottages online looking for a special one for an important week (my birthday was at the end!). I know I’m fussy but we’ve made mistakes…… I wanted somewhere dog friendly √ where we’d enjoy spending time indoors if the weather was bad √ preferably with an open fire √ and with a ’boutique’ feel √ somewhere cosy but not cluttered √, an outside area for our dog to enjoy √, and us too √, no pink carpets, patterned sofas or horse brasses√ somewhere I could cook if we fancied eating in √, a bbq in case husband managed to catch any fish (there’s a great fishmonger in Looe so we found out) √, big comfortable beds √, wireless √, Sky TV √ contemporary bathroom √ beautiful scenery √ dog friendly beach within walking distance √ great pubs within walking distance √ parking nearby √ food delivery √ No doubt I shall remember more later….!! I think by now though that you will get my drift! Blue Monkey was absolutely perfect in every way & we both long to return maybe with family and friends next time. There is just one thing I hadn’t banked on, the minute you walk through the front door you can feel the happy times, it’s almost as if you can hear the laughter. Thanks Blue Monkey et al for the most wonderful week.
Dale, Nov 2013

Had a fabulous time at Blue Monkey, stunning place and scenic, cosy location. An absolute delight.
Adams family, Oct 13

Great locatiom child and dog friendly area

Lovely family house, sparkling clean with soft white towels in the bedrooms. We had five adults, one toddler and 3 dogs staying and had plenty of space. Fresh flowers in all the rooms and a bottle of wine and scones on arrival was a lovely touch. The large family kitchen is very well equipped.
Excellent location, being within short walking distance of the car park and also the pubs. Lovely costal walk nearby.
Hindhead, Oct 13

High end accommodation, perfect for a family holiday

Stayed with young family and had a fantastic relaxing week. Accommodation really is luxury with amazing master bedroom and ensuite. Very well equipped with pretty much everything you need for small kids. Great location very near beaches and great pubs. Local shops are good but worth doing an online shop
Sammy, Sept 13

A beautiful coastal retreat in an idyllic location

Blue Monkey will not disappoint!

We arrived to a lovely welcome of homemade scones, clotted cream, local jam and a bottle of wine in the fridge! The perfect start to a wonderful holiday! The house was beautifully presented throughout and extremely well equipped for all. A real home from home.

Thank you for making our stay so special. We have already recommended Blue Monkey to friends and family and can’t wait to come back!

London, Aug 13

Lovely house in lovely position

We chose Blue Monkey because while it is in Cornwall, you are spared the nightmare of driving down through to the far south or north of the County. While only just in Cornwall, Cawsand has all the trappings of a typical Cornish village. All very quaint and picturesque but without any tawdry hat. The cottage itself is a very well modernised three storey house with bags of room. A very large kitchen and courtyard garden make eating and drinking at home a pleasure. But Cawsand/Kingsand is well provided with pubs of all kinds. The Devonport is particularly good for food and the Rising Sun for beer. The beaches are great for lounging and swimming and even in the July 2013 heat wave were never too busy. Wonderful costal walks make it ideal for dogs and the rock pools make it perfect for kids. The little ferry to Barbican is ideal for a day trip to Plymouth where we enjoyed the aquarium. All in all a perfect spot for a family holiday.
Worcester, July 13

Being 2 families wishing to holiday together,spanning the age from 0 to 70’s,and needing space and activities for all, Blue Monkey gave us this in abundance.Unlike other viewed properties, staircase was wide and no difficult stairs to reach the bedrooms.As one entered B M there was a very welcoming feel. Fresh flowers in the sitting room + kitchen, in the fridge wine and clotted cream and fire laid ready for a lit match.
Nearby walks long or short to suit one’s taste or a ferry ride to Plymouth,takes about 30 mins from Cawsand,over the road from B M the sea and sand await one,just seemed whatever pursuit you wished for,was on hand.Would certainly recommend to friends and family saying, a holiday in B M needs to be experienced asap. Can’t wait to return “To the forgotten corner of Cornwall” and stay in this luxury abode.
West Midlands, July 13

Having our first ever holiday with our new little boy aged just 11 weeks was a trip which was very important to us. Having been to Blue Monkey before, returning here was an easy decision to make. It is superbly kitted out for babies and young children and the woodburner made a huge difference for keeping the place homely and warm on some chilly nights! Walks on Whitsand, Rame Head and over to Mount Edgcumbe were all stunning and and some good times in te Devonport as always! Having dogs to stay at Blue Monkey was a massive plus too.
Bridgham, April 13

Home from Home by the sea

review-thumb-1
A wonderful welcome: scones, clotted cream, jam and in the fridge milk and a bottle of wine. We felt at home immediately. The house was spotless and was stocked with everything one needs on holiday. Beds were comfortable bathrooms sparkled. We were well looked after by Zoe who answered any queries we had. A really lovely home to spend a holiday in.
Babuholiday July 13

review-thumb-1
Thank you Blue Monkey for giving us the perfect location for a gorgeous holiday.
London, June 2013

 

review-thumb-1
Lovely location, exceptionally clean house, very baby friendly. A real home from home with a large comfy sofa, wood-burner, dishwasher and big comfy bed. Everything was thought off so we could relax and enjoy our holiday.
Marriotts Norfolk Apr 13

 

review-thumb-1
Lovely location, exceptionally clean house, very baby friendly.
LS Norfolk Apr 13

 

review-thumb-1
Having dogs to stay at Blue Monkey was a massive plus too.
TS Norfolk Apr 13

Fantastic holiday cottage

review-thumb-1
We chose Blue Monkey over the other options as it looked luxurious and yet child friendly. We had 4 under-5s and so this was important.
The house was immaculate on arrival with fresh flowers in every room and homemade scones, clotted cream, jam and a bottle of wine – a really lovely welcome!
We would definitely recommend it to friends and family with and without children as it was really well equipped (everything you need for babies and children as well as Emma Bridgewater pottery!!), in a great location and very cosy. We definitely hope to be back!
Oundle, April 13

 

review-thumb-1
Lovely big house – we had seven people staying and made use of the extra bunk room – and it didn’t feel crowded. It was really well equipped, with all the cooking utensils, tablewear you’d need, and all very well organised. The electric hob takes a little getting used to, but otherwise, can’t fault anything. Lovely bedding and fluffy towels. A real treat for friends or family.

Seconds from the sea, and loads of coastal walks to do. Nearby national trust houses and grands were good.

The Devonshire arms is a lovely pub/restaurant. You’ll likely need to book, and it’s well worth it. Although several other pubs in the village available as back-up.

Les Apr 13

 

review-thumb-1
The house was immaculate on arrival with fresh flowers in every room and homemade scones, clotted cream, jam and a bottle of wine – a really lovely welcome! We would definitely recommend it to friends and family with and without children as it was really well equipped (everything you need for babies and children as well as Emma Bridgewater pottery!!), in a great location and very cosy. We definitely hope to be back”
Humphries April 13

An oasis

review-thumb-1
Blue Monkey is a convenient size for a family get together
· The house was clean & comfortable on arrival. The decor is smart & relaxing
· It fulfilled our expectations compared to other holiday homes; we would recommend it to our friends as suitable for families
Salisbury, March 13

 

review-thumb-1
Blue Monkey is presented and maintained to an excellent standard. It is warm, welcoming and very well equipped and you immediately feel at home. Just yards from the beach, 4 village pubs serving great food, local shop and cafe’s the house could not be more conveniently located in the centre of this idyllic Cornish village. Nearby are picturesque walks along coastal paths, beautiful scenery, countryside and beaches. The area is easily accessible but retains the peaceful charm of Cornwall. We can’t wait to return and can’t imagine a better to place to stay than Blue Monkey.”
Mark Mar 13

 

review-thumb-1
A wonderful welcome: scones, clotted cream, jam and in the fridge milk and a bottle of wine. We felt at home immediately. The house was spotless and was stocked with everything one needs on holiday. Beds were comfortable bathrooms sparkled. We were well looked after by Zoe who answered any queries we had. A really lovely home to spend a holiday in.
Babu holiday Cambridge Jul 13

 

review-thumb-1
A home from home. Lovely location, exceptionally clean house, very baby friendly. A real home from home with a large comfy sofa, wood-burner, dishwasher and big comfy bed. Everything was thought off so we could relax and enjoy our holiday. A welcome pack of wine, bread, butter and cream tea awaited us too – just perfect.
Anna L April 2013

A fantastic venue for a family gathering

review-thumb-1
Blue Monkey provided all that we could have wished for – spacious, well equipped, with very thoughtful provision for the youngest member of our party ( 23months)
We had a great get- together with our family in honour of our 45th Anniversary, and would recommend it to anyone planning a celebratory break !
We also loved the proximity to the sea , and found the shops stocked local produce.
Our favourite beach was Whitsand Bay – well worth a trek down the cliff path to a beautifully quiet, sandy beach. We wished we could have stayed longer !
Jeny P, Sept 12

Very enjoyable stay

review-thumb-1
The house is very well equipped and a generous size. The village and surrounding scenery are stunning.

We’re a family with young children and it was an ideal holiday.

Anna, Sept 12

 

review-thumb-1
Amazing location, 3.5hrs drive from London, right on the beach. Fabulous gastro pubs in the village. Brilliant walks from the front door.
London, Oct 12

Stunning holiday home in unspoilt Cornish village

review-thumb-1
We’ve stayed at Blue Monkey a few times now at different times of the year.

It’s been a no-brainer to do so: with two small children going abroad turns into a hassle but we still want to feel that holiday vibe, and that we’re going away somewhere special.

Blue Monkey is that place – it actually manages to feel boutique-y AND like a relaxed family home. (And crucial for us, all the baby equipment we need is there, so there’s less packing of ‘everything but the kitchen sink’.)

And of course it’s situated in the most gorgeous, picturesque village you could hope to find. The people are friendly, the town beach is child-friendly, the nearby Devonport Arms serves great great food.

I reeeeeallly recommend Blue Monkey to anyone!

London, Sept 12

Lovely house in beautiful village

review-thumb-1
Very comfortable and tastefully decorated in house in a beautiful village. We had a great week there. It’s in wonderful location with easy access to the beautiful local beaches.
Would recommend for families or couples wanting a relaxing week away.
Londoner, Sept 12

A stylish seaside home in a beautiful part of Cornwall

review-thumb-1
The twin villages of Kingsand/Cawsand are located in east Cornwall in what is often called the “forgotten” corner of the county. We found the village(s) perfect with the benefits of being hidden away but equally a 30 minute ferry trip to Plymouth. This makes for a great combination when you have small kids who need entertaining come rain or shine!

The Blue Monkey was a great base to explore the area, being only a few steps from the beach, and had everything you need in a home away from home. The accommodation is spacious and decorated in coastal pastels, with everything needed for a very comfortable stay, and a great history to reflect on (pub, Nelson, cannonballs…). The owner, Ed, provides everything you need for a smooth ‘check in’ with clear instructions and guidance and nice touches such as bread, milk and wine. This really makes a difference after a long drive, albeit through lovely scenery.

Top tips would include:

– lunch at “The View” overlooking Whitsand bay. Great fish and local wine (try the Camel Valley)
– a walk around Mount Edgcumbe with its great views towards Plymouth and various activities for kids including treasure hunts and of course ice cream from the Orangery
– get the ferry from Cawsand beach to the Barbican in Plymouth and visit the National aquarium in time for the shark feed (11 am); afterwards get the shuttle ferry to King Williams Dock and enjoy the architecture and lunch at the River cafe
– enjoy a pint of Cornish ale whilst watching the sun go down overlooking the sea at the Devonport Inn; the kids can play on the beach below as you sip slowly!
– go crabbing in the rock pools as the tide recedes and reward yourself with morning tea/coffee at the deli just a few houses up from the Blue Monkey
all in all this a great holiday home in a lovely spot. You can’t help but relax and look forward to returning.

Nick, Aug 12

review-thumb-1
Blue Monkey is a lovely house – spacious and practical but stylish as well. It suited our needs as a 3-generation extended family very well. Having use of the 2 kayaks was a real bonus and fun for adults and children alike. Kingsand and Cawsand are perfect villages for a relaxing holiday. Beaches were on the doorstep, and good walking, village shop, post office, pubs, cafes, were all to hand, without spoiling the non-commercialised character of the place. We did not find parking in the nearby Skinner’s car park a problem at all – it is so close. In fact we often used buses and ferries to get around and this was all part of the fun. We were lucky enough to visit at the time of the Rame Gig Regatta which was another focus of interest. We had a problem with the fridge and were very impressed with how efficiently and quickly this was dealt with.
Nottingham, Aug 12